Wilberforce Award 2013

Note - for the current year's Wilbeforce Weekend information, please go to WilberforceWeekend.org. Wilberforce Weekend is held annually in early Spring by the Colson Center for Christian Worldview. The public is invited.

His Eminence

Timothy Michael Cardinal Dolan

2013 William Wilberforce Award Recipient

His Eminence, Timothy Cardinal Dolan was named Archbishop of New York by Pope Benedict XVI on February 23, 2009. He was installed as Archbishop of New York on April 15, 2009.

Cardinal Dolan was ordained to the priesthood on June 19, 1976. Since then he has served in parish ministry, academia, and with the Apostolic Nunciature in Washington, D.C.

Cardinal Dolan served as chairman of Catholic Relief Services from January 2009 – November 2010. He is currently a member of the Board of Trustees of The Catholic University of America. He is also a member of the Pontifical Council for Promoting New Evangelization and the Pontifical Council for Social Communications.stamp_wilberforce_k

On November 16, 2010, Cardinal Dolan was elected president of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. He succeeds Cardinal Francis George of Chicago.

One of the original signers of the Manhattan Declaration, Cardinal Dolan is an outspoken advocate for life, marriage, right of conscience, and religious freedom and has been a leader in the movement to stand against the so-called HHS Mandate that requires employers including religious groups and organizations to provide insurance coverage that covers contraception, abortion and sterilization to employees despite religious objections.

Cardinal Dolan will receive the William Wilberforce Award at a banquet on Saturday, April 27, 2013 as part of the Chuck Colson Center for Christian Worldview's Wilberforce Weekend Conference at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View in Arlington, Virginia.

Wilberforce Weekend Conference guests attend the banquet at no additional charge. Cost for guests attending the banquet only is $100 per person. Click on the "Register Online" link on the upper left side of the page to register for the banquet.

About the William Wilberforce Award

The annual William Wilberforce Award is given to present its recipient as an example and model of the witness of real Christianity making a difference in the face of tough societal problems and injustices. It is named for the eighteenth-century British parliamentarian, whose impassioned, well-reasoned debates and writings helped end Britain’s slave trade and reform the corroding values of England. The example of Wilberforce and his friends sparked a sweeping spiritual movement throughout the country, which in turn transformed a variety of social ills.

In a similar vein, this award is presented both to encourage Christians to follow its recipient’s example and to demonstrate to the secular world the benefits of Christian influence in society.

The purpose of the award has never been to venerate, enrich, or magnify an individual, but—through lifting that person up as an example—to inspire others to action.

Past Award Recipients
2012 Joni Eareckson Tada, Founder, Joni and Friends International

2011 Dr. Wayne "Coach" Gordon, Pastor, Lawndale Community Church

2010 Ambassador Tony P. Hall, United Nations Ambassador, U.S Congressman

2009 Bishop John Rucyahana, Anglican Bishop, Shyira Dioceses, Rwanda

2008 The Honorable Albert H. Quie, U. S. Congressman, Governor of Minnesota

2007 Gary A. Haugen, Founder, International Justice Mission

2006 The Honorable Joseph R. Pitts, U. S. Congressman

2005 Mr. Constantin Asavoaie, President, Prison Fellowship Romania

2004 Dr. Phillip E. Johnson, Professor of Law, University of California – Berkeley

2003 The Honorable Sam Brownback, U. S. Senator

2002 The Honorable Christopher Smith, U. S. Congressman

2001 The Honorable William E. Simon,Former U. S. Treasury Secretary

2000 Bishop Macram Max Gassis, Catholic Diocese of El Obeid, Sudan

1999 Dr. John M. Perkins, John M. Perkins Foundation for Reconciliation and Development

1998 Father Richard John Neuhaus, Roman Catholic Priest, Editor, First Things

1997 Mr. Michael J. Horowitz, Senior Fellow, Hudson Institute

1996 Mrs. Kay Coles James, Secretary of Health and Human Services, Virginia

1995 The Baroness Cox of Queensbury, Member, House of Lords, Great Britain

1994 The Honorable Sam Nunn, U. S. Senator

1993 Dr. Jorge Crespo Toral, President, Prison Fellowship Ecuador

1992 The Reverend Gábor Roszik, Lutheran Pastor, Hungary

1991 The Honorable William L. Armstrong, U. S. Senator

1990 The Honorable Frank R. Wolf, U. S. Congressman

1988 The Honorable Benigno S. Aquino, Jr., Democracy Proponent, The Philippines